City Authority

Mayor, Deputy Mayors etc.

The City Authority consists of the Mayor, Deputy Mayors, the City Authority Secretary and the employees of the City Authority. The various Divisions which make up the City Authority are constituted by the City Council to deal with defined areas of activity. Within the Authority, other specialist units with titles other than Division (e.g. Section, Department, Office, Archive) also have the status of Divisions. Legally the City Secretary performs the role of the employer of all City employees except those of the City Police Force. The Secretary is responsible for managing employment law issues and human resources, managing and reviewing the work of employees, and coordinating the activities of individual Divisions.
The Divisions, managed by their Heads, are entrusted with carrying out tasks of state administration and local government.